Hans Flick Prize 2018

The Bonn-based Verein zur Förderung der Steuerrechtswissenschaft (Association Promoting the Study of Tax Law) – founded by Dr. Hans Flick, senior partner of Flick Gocke Schaumburg, and other partners – awards the Hans Flick Prize for the best dissertations of practical relevance to the fields of tax law and business taxation.

The prize is endowed with a total of up to 10,000 euros, which may be split among up to three winners. The jury decides on the amount to be awarded to each individual. The prize serves to encourage the next generation of academics and to help forge links between academia and the profession. It is awarded for dissertations which make a particular contribution to the practical application of tax law. The prize was first conferred in 2002. The jury is made up of academics, tax judges, tax officials and practitioners.

To be eligible for the Hans Flick Prize 2018, the candidate must have been awarded a doctorate between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018 (date of the oral examination) with “summa cum laude” or “magna cum laude.” Employees of Flick Gocke Schaumburg are excluded from participating.

The deadline for the submission of dissertations is September 30, 2018. The Hans Flick Prize will be awarded mid of 2019.

Please submit your application for the Hans Flick Prize with two copies of your dissertation (one will remain with the jury) and a photocopy of your doctoral degree to:

Bonner Verein zur Förderung der Steuerrechtswissenschaft
Herr Prof. Dr. Michael Hendricks
c/o Flick Gocke Schaumburg
Fritz-Schäffer-Straße 1
53113 Bonn